Frances Gilcreast Re-Elected As Leader of Flint NAACP

Frances Gilcreast Re-Elected As Leader of Flint NAACP

The Flint Branch NAACP election was held on Saturday, December 6, 2014 at the Regional Office of the United Auto Workers.  Members steadily and continuously came to vote from 9am until 5pm, sometimes waiting in line outside.   It was a very diverse combination of voters from every age group and ethnic makeup.  After the polls closed at 5 pm, the counting of the votes began.  It was nearly 3:30am when the votes were finally tallied.  That is when Mrs. Gilcreast learned that she had been re-elected to her 5th term as President of the Flint Branch NAACP.  Other officers elected were Gregory Eason, 1st Vice-President; A.C. Dumas, 2nd Vice-President; Tonya Bailey, 3rd Vice-President, Pamela Montgomery, Secretary; Jolena Sanders, Treasurer; and many new Executive Committee Members.  All Officers and Executive Committee Members elected, will be sworn in and assume their positions in January 2015.

Mrs. Gilcreast said in a press release; “The Flint Branch NAACP is alive and well!!  Our branch elections are behind us, we have new Officers and Executive Committee members who are willing to continue the fight for justice and equality.  There is much work to be done in this community and all are ready for the challenge.  We will continue to focus on membership development, economic development, engaging our youth in advocacy, voter empowerment, law enforcement accountability, and regaining our democracy back in the City of Flint”

Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation’s oldest and largest civil-rights organization. From the ballot box to the classroom, the thousands of dedicated workers, organizers, leaders and members who make up the NAACP continue to fight for social justice for all Americans.


Leave a Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>