Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Flint Alumnae Chapter, Welcomes New Members

Flint Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. proudly welcomed 16 women of various professions for membership.  On Saturday, April 12th, 2014, Khalilah Majied, President introduced the sorority’s “Spring 2014” members.  They are: Terry Arnold, Nannette Benman, Aretha Bradley, Ayunna Dompreh, Lacey Hughey, Natasha Love, Kenyetta Snell, Sharon Nichols, Penny Poplar, Kimberly Reese, Afton Shavers, Monicia Summers, Nichele Tell, Kaneesa Tooson, Charisse Watts, and Shalanda Williams. A celebratory reception with family and friends was held for them at St. Paul Episcopal Church, Flint. “They have already initiated a phenomenal public service project by collecting 300 pairs of shoes for a worthy cause,” says Khalilah Majied, chapter president.  She indicated, “the shoes will be donated to the YWCA who will ship them overseas to help build enterprises in developing nations.”

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. founded January 13, 1913 is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through its five-point programmatic thrust in local communities.  Delta Sigma Theta has over 250,000 members worldwide.  The Flint Alumnae Chapter chartered on May 16, 1954 continues the mission started by its founders and will celebrate its 60th year anniversary Saturday May 3, with a lunch program at Flint Institute of Arts.


Leave a Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>